Provincial and civic politics:

Alison Redford – Alberta’s 14th premier, Alison Redford has been active in the political landscape many years. She worked closely with former prime minister Joe Clark and later worked in the Prime Minister’s Office. Her international work experience includes human rights litigation in Africa, International Election Commissioner for Afghanistan’s first parliamentary elections, and as an advisor to the Privy Council for Canada’s future involvement in Afghanistan.

Hazel McCallion – Hazel McCallion has been the mayor of Mississauga since 1978. At 84, she is the longest-serving mayor in Canada and has kept her city debt-free during her time in office. She received the Order of Canada and was named the runner-up as World Mayor in 2005.

Dianne Watts – Dianne Watts has been the mayor of Surrey, B.C. since 2005. She has won three consecutive terms and in the most recent election, she won 81 per cent of the votes. She was the first female mayor of Surrey and placed fourth in World Mayor 2010.

Christy Clark – Christy Clark was elected to the British Columbia legislature in 1996, and in 2001 was appointed Minister of Education and deputy premier. In 2010 she sought and won leadership of the B.C. Liberal Party, after then-premier Gordon Campbell announced his retirement from politics. She has worked as a newspaper columnist and radio personality, hosting ‘The Christy Clark Show’ on CKNW radio. Clark won Capbell’s Vancouver riding of Vancouver-Point Grey and was sworn in as premier on May 30, 2011.

Kathy Dunderdale – Kathy Dunderdale was elected to the Newfoundland and Labrador House of Assembly in the province’s 2003 general election. She served as Minister of Natural Resources, and in December 2010 announced that she would seek the leadership role in the Progressive Conservative Party of Newfoundland and Labrador. She was sworn in as party leader in April 2011, and in October 2011 led her party to a landslide victory. With her re-election and her party’s big win, Dunderdale became the first elected female premier in the history Newfoundland and Labrador.

Eva Aariak – Prior to her election to the Nunavut legislature, Eva Aariak served as Nunavut’s Languages Commissioner, the body which monitors the Government of Nunavut’s use of the Inuit language, French and English. In 2008 she was elected to represent Iqaluit East, and was subsequently selected as the territory’s premier under its consensus government system. She is the fifth woman to serve as a premier in Canada, and the first female premier of Nunavut.

part four